• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


E-mail Print


Call for Nominations for EASD Research Prize and Special Awards

The European Association for Structural Dynamics announces seven research prizes and special awards:

The EASD Research Prizes are given in recognition of outstanding and sustained contributions to the following areas:

1. Development of Methodologies for Structural Dynamics

2. Computational Structural Dynamics

3. Applications of Structural Dynamics

In each of those three areas Senior and Junior Prizes, respectively, will be awarded. Eligibility for Junior prizes, requires that the nominee is forty years old or younger and should not turn 41 in the year the award is presented.

Special Awards will be given for outstanding contributions to other important areas not encompassed above, such as Structural Dynamics Education, Transfer of Structural Dynamics Methods to the Engineering Practice, etc. Special Awards are also given to honor individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions in the field of Structural Dynamics and related fields generally over periods representing portions of their professional careers.

General guidelines and features of the research prizes and special awards are listed as follows:

Eligibility: all recipients shall be either members of EASD and/or contributors to past EASDs (European Conferences of Structural Dynamics).

Frequency: the research prizes shall not be given more frequently than once every three years. In Leuven, Belgium, the prizes will be given at EURODYN '11.

Special Awards, however, although generally given during EURODYNs can also be conferred at other occasions.

Nominations: the EURODYN Awards Committee appointed by the Executive Board, solicits nominations. Nominators may nominate no more than one individual for each of the prizes or awards. Self nominations are not accepted. Nominators are invited to submit a one-page maximum combined nominating statement/vita in support of the nominee. The Awards Committee shall select candidate winners of each award and provide its recommendations of recipients to the Awards Decision Body, which shall select the prize winners and awardees.

The Awards Committee chaired by an appointed chairman consists of experts in each of the areas stated above. It is the responsibility of the Awards Committee to make all preparations for the selection and preparation of the research prizes and awards to the awardees at the EURODYN. If a member of the Awards Committee is nominated for a research prize or a special award that members is ineligible to vote for that award and is otherwise removed entirely from the selection of that award.

Call for nominations. All members of EASD and those regularly contributing to the EURODYNs are invited to submit nominations to the Awards Committee chairman.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. G. Müller
c/o Lehrstuhl für Baumechanik
Technische Universität München
Arcisstr. 21
80333 München, Germany, EU
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


The deadline for nominations will be 3 months (90 days) prior to EURODYN '11.